A Small House

A small house

does not hold many

things

I do not need them anyway

sorting donating sorting donating

up the stairs back down again

up the stairs back down again

so glad the Small House is on one level

Keeping only a few Things

Do my children know their little hand prints

make me cry for all those wasted days

that I thought were Stressful

Giving them keepsakes from the

family and ancestors

Freeing myself from Things

I don’t need

Missing all six of

them

still being happy for

them

wishing they were still

little

missing their hugs and kisses and sticky fingers and

bottles and spilled milk

Shaking myself out of those

wonderful times

Remembering it’s time

to make New Memories

with

People

Not things any longer

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

