Bonnie Raitt and me…

Many years ago a friend of mine introduced me to Bonnie Raitt.  In case you don’t know her, she is considered a country singer I guess.  Kind of folksy. I did and do like her music. There is one particular song that she came out with called, ‘Nobody’s Girl’. My friend told me that this song was my song. It reminded her of me. When I first heard it, I was kind of offended to tell the truth. You’d have to google all the lyrics but here are a few:

She gives herself to him, but he’s still on the other side.
She’s alone in this world, She’s nobody’s girl.
She’s nobody’s girl.

Yep. That was me. I was very cautious of giving my heart away. I gave it away too young to a boy that I married and it turned out to be a disaster. Then I waited for years it seemed, one failed relationship after another until the hubs came along.

Now that I am older, I still feel like Nobody’s Girl…..I am alone much these days. I am alone when there are people in the house. It’s weird feeling. My two middle girls are graduating and moving on with their lives; as it should be…the natural order of things.. the two eldest children are grown with families of their own…..The Menopause makes me nuts. (I could be nuts anyway..prone to Anxiety and the blues….(the blues are new…The Menopause?)….Just me and my computer, writing away into the night while the hubs and the boys are asleep….my dogs on the floor at my feet even though the hubs won’t let them in the bedroom….

Yep.  I am Nobody’s Girl…

Leave a Reply

