Ode to Memorial Day

Before the days of modern weaponry, on horseback

walking, running, cutting paths

using muskets and black powder rifles

scared of the cannon

carrying knife and sword

buddies and family dying

by the hundreds

I thank you

for fighting for

our freedom

On horseback, in trenches, cutting paths

using guns, rifles, then high powered rifles

tanks

submarines, on destroyers

airplanes, shooting targets

losing family and buddies

I thank you for

fighting for our

freedom

I bow my head and pray

for your

safety

I thank you and I

remember you not just today

or this weekend but

everyday

Leave a Reply

