Fireworks…

Standing on a deck overlooking a beautiful green yard filled
With people having fun
Drinking beer and yet being irresponsible
Playing with illegal fireworks
All the neighbors were watching the big
Displays in the sky, admiring and watching for free
It was not even a celebration
Just a regular night
I was holding the hands of my
Little one
Enjoying the fireworks too but alas,
The one time I wanted to join in the fun
The firework went crazy and
Sped across the night sky over
200 yards and impossibly hit
Me in the eye
I was so thankful it did not
Hit my daughter
Was rushed to the hospital
And lived in the dark for
Weeks
The eye miraculously healed itself
But I still have a Fear
Of
Fireworks
Another fun thing for others to enjoy
But not for
Me
Because of my
Fear

Leave a Reply

