If I had waited a little longer…

It was a very hot summer day
The rain fell down in a lovely curtain to cool off the day’s heat
Twilight came in all its glory, showing off a robe of many colors just at the horizon
I knew he was out there somewhere
I looked to the right and saw no one
I looked to the left and saw no one
I sat on the curb for a while contemplating which way to walk
Perhaps this would be the evening I met my Love
I then felt stupid but
Knew in my heart that he was close by
I went straight ahead instead
And ended up at home
Alone…wanting—
Years later I met him
We were close by all those years ago
If I had sat on the curb just a little longer
I would have met him
But I left too soon
And it was too late

2 thoughts on “If I had waited a little longer…

Leave a Reply

