What if….

When does someone call the police? If one was to endure a break in at a business or a home, they would call the police. If one were injured, one would call the police. If one saw a car accident, they would call the police. If one was experiencing domestic violence, they would call the police. If there were a medical emergency at home, or on the highway, one may contact the police. If one saw a person carrying a rifle, or suspected someone was carrying a bomb, as in the case of terrorism, they would call the police. If a child was missing, one would call the police. The list is endless.

I am completely against racial profiling. However, until our police departments change their ways, it is simply a matter of doing what you are told to do. I am not a fan of being pulled over for no good reason and having my car searched. (which has happened several times)….. I am not a fan of my son being pulled over on his motorcycle for no good reason and having to stand out in the heat. The police not even allowing him to get a drink of water although he has heart disease. Yet that happened a few weeks ago and I wrote about it. I can’t stand the fact that my son in law gets pulled over All the Time because of his color, and I worry for my grandson. I hate that my daughter has been placed in handcuffs and she was not even driving!!  I hate it.

A thousand moons ago when I was young, I thought that becoming a police officer would be a good job for me. It was a county job with pretty good pay for the times, and benefits which I needed greatly because I was a single parent, and I grew up around guns, so thought it would be a good fit. I was also extremely fit at the time. (ah, for that 20 year old bod again)!!  I met with a few officers and they were having a ‘barbecue’ and invited me to come, so I did. I changed my mind about being a police officer. In hindsight, I should have become one. But no do overs. Why did I change my mind?  Because when I arrived, there was so much alcohol, Drugs and shenanigans  going on, and I felt that to be a police officer, one should be held to a higher standard. They were off duty.  I was young and naive. I still think that they should be held to a higher standard…

The point of this narrative is that even though sometimes the police are not my favorite people when on duty, they are an integral part of our justice system, of America, the first line of defense in times of trouble. They Should Respect All People.

But they should not be shot!!

What if there were no police?  Then we  would be under martial law. Tanks, (Guardsmen), curfews, high priority calls only…..Do we want that??

No!!

Stop the violence!!

2 thoughts on “What if….

  1. I wonder how many are bad . . .how many profile? In my white condition I cannot fathom. I wish I knew. Can’t the bad ones be fixed? It seems like departments would have data and be able to root out evil.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

