My Best Friend

We used to blow off work and go the amusement park

do you remember that?

We used to “not stop kissing each other”……

do you remember that?

We used to put the kids to bed and sit on the porch on Friday nights

and drink wine and talk about life like we were philosophers

do you remember that?

We used to have pagers instead of cell phones

do you remember that?

We used to meet at bakeries through-out the city and feed each other eclairs and drink coffee

do you remember that?

we used to work hard and play hard

do you remember that?

we used to talk about everything and call just to say hello

do you remember that?

we used to walk through furniture stores and pretend we had money to buy what we wanted

do you remember that?

you used to buy flowers when you had the money

I remember that

you would stop along the road and pick flowers (oops) when you didn’t have the money

I remember that (and loved that)

you used to sway with me to the music, enveloping me like a warm and fuzzy blanket

I remember that

you used to light up when I walked in the door

I remember that

you used to hear a song on the radio that reminded you of me and then you would find it and play it for me

I remember that

you told me I had the most incredible amber-yellow eyes, rimmed in green- that you could drown in them

I remember that

filthy words   always complaining  mean and nasty remarks  hateful words

I don’t know you anymore

all the good things I remember I try to hold

on to

but they are slowly

fading and soon

I won’t know you at all

any

more

because

I

don’t want to

all your good was for nothing

but for now

I still miss

my

best

friend

 

One thought on “My Best Friend

  1. Pingback: Success Inspirers World

Leave a Reply

